Author Topic: What is this Transmission?  (Read 3517 times)

CaptainRay

What is this Transmission?
« on: December 26, 2011, 10:13:25 PM »
I have learned about alot of transmissions, but this is the first time I have seen this shift pattern, what transmission is this? do they make it anymore? Thanks

alexthe22

• Got coffee?
Re: What is this Transmission?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2011, 10:20:20 PM »
15 speed. 8) I'm no expert on this, but It shifts like like a straight 10 on normal loads on the highway. The Low-Low range is use for heavier loads or for off-road applications.  My friend had a 96 White/GMC with one of this.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2011, 10:33:16 PM by alexthe22 »

CaptainRay

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2011, 10:55:40 PM »
15 speed. 8) I'm no expert on this, but It shifts like like a straight 10 on normal loads on the highway. The Low-Low range is use for heavier loads or for off-road applications.  My friend had a 96 White/GMC with one of this.

Ok, I always thought 15 speeds were 10 speed style pattern but all of the high range gears were split into LO and HI (Drive and Over Drive). I have also heard that the 15 speed is the heavy duty cousin of the 13 and 18 speed because its geared lower or something like that. Basically a highway/cruising tractor version of the 8LL/9LL style gearboxes for dump trucks and flat beds. I am still learning how these transmissions works so bear with me  ::) ;D

Wee Willy

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2011, 04:12:45 AM »
Pretty weird, never seen one before.

The tag says its a 13 spd, it shifts similar to a 15 spd, but slightly different in the low end, or deep reduction.
This is a very light duty transmission according to the tag, will only handle 660 ft/lbs of torque.
The first rule of the road is:
"If anything can happen, at any time, it will!"

Dan Burkhart

• Regular Membership
  • Oakville Ontario
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2011, 04:41:18 AM »