If you enjoy this web site, please show your support.

Truck Driving Jobs

Truck Driving Jobs

Author Topic: Truck Safety  (Read 7303 times)

itbracer6

Truck Safety
« on: September 13, 2006, 06:47:42 AM »
I'll admit I'm new to the trucking business compaired to most of you ( less than 10 years) here but It seems to me that although the HOS is susposed to make the industry better it isn't working. I do a mail run from St. Louis to Springfield to Big cabin Ok and return back to St. Lou 3 days a week and I don't think I work a day where I don't see a truck incident. LOTS of roll overs mainly due to driver falling asleep or stupidity. Has it always been this way?

Personally I see several problems with the HOS rules. I know the independents aren't going to like this!!

1. Why is the average americas work week 40-50 hours and a drivers is expected to be 60-80? I personally like the drivers who tell you the are making 1000 to 1500 a week but they don't mention the fact that @ 60-80 hours they worked 2 jobs to do it.

2. Every co. I've worked for, the dispatcher seems to throw away the rule book ( this includes the Post Office who"s contract I haul for). My turn is 688 miles door to door and the truck is governed at 67 with a company policy of 65. If you look at 392.6 it states that 600 to 660 miles would be considered to be illegal.

3. It seems that everyone is cheating on log books in one way or another. Loging load time as bunk time, etc.

4. a large percentage of drivers don't do pretrips, even at a minium. Then they complain when they get shutdown by DOT.

I am only touching on the surface here. 

What bothers me is driver safety. A few months ago I watched a driver die ( couldn't help him as he was crushed with the truck). He was hauling a load of onions out of Texas and fell asleep. What bothers me most here is that he died for a load of onions. I don't know about you but my life is worth more than that.

Thanks for letting me rant,

Bill

Hank's Truck Forum